toredyna.blogg.se

Armand hammer
Armand hammer










armand hammer

It’s the same way as if somebody was like, “Is this about police?” I’m like, “Of course, somebody could see that in there.” But it’s not literal. It’s interesting, you know, the levels and different aspects to it was what intrigued me and then, the Islamic angle is one piece of it. It is a really good photograph, and there’s something almost painterly about it to me. First of all, it’s repulsive, to a certain extent, obviously. I showed it to Al and I showed it to Elucid and was like, “What do you think?” I was kind of questioning if it would just be me, but everybody else was like, “Yeah, that’s it.” And I think that there are just so many levels to it. And when that picture came across, it just seemed to hit so many of the points that it made sense. Some photographer I really respect, I told him what we were doing. Woods: I don’t think it was that literal, you know. So what’s the message that you’re trying to convey just through the artwork alone? The artwork showcases the decapitation of two pigs in a manner that doesn’t align with Muslim customs.

armand hammer

So I suggested it as a title and Elucid was like, “I like it, but what are we doing?” And so then we had a discussion kind of around exchanging ideas about what you know, I kind of kicked out some ideas of what I thought made a good record or a good starting point. It was a word and an idea that had kind of been kicking around in my mind, and once we actually were sitting down and started to work on it, I just felt like it was an interesting departure point, you know? And sometimes I feel like that’s all I need.

armand hammer

Woods: I guess there were a bunch of reasons. Throughout the album - which features verses from Earl Sweatshirt, Quelle Chris, and Fielded - his mastery of the boards is prominent, giving enough room for woods and Elucid to spread their wings and freely create. Samples are chopped up until they’re unrecognizable, cut, mangled, and looped with haunting vocals in the background. Alchemist - fresh off a Grammy nomination for his work on Alfredo - creates a landscape that’s beautiful, foreboding, and eerie all at the same time. And even though the pandemic shifted the recording process, Armand Hammer and Alchemist were able to craft Haram. While Alchemist would continue his productive streak, cutting projects with Conway the Machine, Boldy James, and Freddie Gibbs.įinally, the timing became right. Deciding to put the work with Alchemist on hold due to other projects and a European tour, woods and Elucid would focus their sights on Shrines, a 14-track whirlwind of lightning and brimstone filled with double-dipped metaphors and production that challenged the status quo of what rap music should sound like. In Islamic law, pigs are considered Haram -which means forbidden-and the killing of an animal other than slitting its throat is forbidden.Īrmand Hammer and the Alchemist first got in the lab to work on Haram in 2019. The album artwork, shot by photographer Alexander Richter, features two brutally decapitated pigs on a butcher table, covered in dried, smeared blood marks and dirt. The two New York City vets are met with a production terrain that appears distant, yet there’s a familiarity that’s warmly inviting to their jagged-edged deliveries. The album was produced entirely by mastermind The Alchemist- bringing a level of attention that is new to billy woods and Elucid. We spoke with hip-hop duo Armand Hammer about working with The Alchemist and recording their masterful new album Haram.Īrmand Hammer’s sixth studio album, Haram ( out today, March 26th ) is a visceral spiritual journey, entwined with brooding darkness that slowly crescendos to the surface.












Armand hammer